Apparently, this shouldn’t happen…

There I am, in the midst of a usability review of my shiny new code; and IE decides it’s not going to play along.
I would be lying if I said I was surprised; however the error is a genuine “WTF”-moment.
The text in the right-most column in this image is the target.

ie-noscript-error

IE’s rubbish styling of a NoScript tag

This is only an error because the attached CSS is:
noscript#losttwitter, noscript#losttwitter p {color: #f99;}

This colours it the same bubblegum-like pink to match the header directly above it.

This would be fine and roll off me like the proverbial water (if I was a duck), but it shouldn’t happen!
I would also use The Mighty Modernizr or The Endowed CSSUtilities to make damn sure stuff happened how I wanted it; if that would actually work…

Tags: ,

About Nick

House-husband, ex-KUSECWB, graduate & techie-monsta / computer-wrangler; at your service.

5 responses to “Apparently, this shouldn’t happen…”

  1. Nick says :

    I even tried styling paragraph tags (inside) instead: no dice. Blargh!

  2. Boarmaplore says :

    In my opinion it already was discussed, use search.

  3. Nick says :

    I am pleased to hear the announcement from WordPress HQ that IE6 is no longer supported!

    http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/just-write/

    Now to just get the rest of the world (http://www.theie6countdown.com/default.aspx) on the case!

  4. Venn says :

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

